Birthday Bits and Bobs

Hello everybody! So quite a while ago now I turned 18 and for my birthday I got a few make up/ skin care bits and bobs which I thought you might be interested in! I was going to do a first impressions blog post but I literally couldn’t wait to use them and also I thought it might be better for you if I properly tried them out first so I can let you know my honest opinion on them before you go out and possibly consider buying them yourself! So I’ll briefly just chit chat my way through a few of the items and let you know what I thought!

Products mentioned:

Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer

All Stars Face Palette- KIKO

Smash Box Photo Finish Foundation Primer

Marc Jabobs Daisy Dream Eau de Toliette

Maybelline EyeStudio Colour Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Eyeshadow

Eye-Shadow Compact (Corduroy and Nylon)- MAC

Colour Fever Eyeshadow Palette- KIKO

Merged Baked Eye Shadows by MUA (Make Up Academy)

MAC Lipstick in Brave

The first product I got bought was the Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask. Face masks are one of my favourite skin care type products- they’re super easy to apply and use and this one in particular delivers such incredible results! Face masks are quite therapeutic and really good for when you want to set aside a bit of ‘me’ time and detoxes your impurities. Most masks are miraculous at proving this deeper cleansing process that leads to an improvement in the appearance of pores that you can see and feel. Who doesn’t love that? The Origins mask is my personal favourite because it is so soft and smooth on the skin and clears the way for smooth breathable skin. Back in January when I first came across the mask I just liked using it because it felt like I was looking after my skin as before I never really had a set skincare routine, but since I’ve been using it once or twice a week and I have really started to notice a difference! Blackheads are so minimal and pores vanish! If you use it properly, your skin will take on a new clarity, dullness will disappear and you will gain a new glowing complexion! I really recommend this face mask if you’re serious about adding it into your skincare routine! Please don’t go near the cheap £1 ones in Wilkos or Boots, as fun as they might be for you and your friends they’re really doing nothing for your skin except clogging it up and making it smell slightly better.

bday2

A concealer which is one of the cheapest on the market yet everyone always talks about is the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer. I buy mine in the shade fair and if you’re like me with naturally pale skin I’d grab one of these when you see it because it’s NEVER IN STOCK! I use this light shade to brighten under my eyes and then either fair again or cool medium (which is the next shade up) for covering my blemishes and I think it works really nicely. It has honestly been my go-to concealer for as long as I can remember! It’s super cheap, easy to apply and blends so well! It comes packaged in a small plastic tube with black printed writing. The applicator wand features a small angled sponge which applies super nicely. It is a full-coverage concealer which is a must for me for under the eyes and it doesn’t crease or peel either. It is really long-lasting and conveys a matt finish onto the skin. The smooth translucent formula has been created to transmit a light close to weightless texture, creating a glowing complexion that will clarify any skin tone. I find the consistency to be quite creamy and the overall look to be quite illuminating.  I reach for it almost every day and to enhance its staying capacity I just powder slightly to set it. The only shortfall that I’ve started to notice is that it can dry out the skin slightly so if you already have particularly dry skin this might not be the best option for you, but with a proper skincare routine and plenty of moisturizer it works a treat. It’s available at any good drugstore for just £4.19 so you’d be a fool not to try it!

bday3

One palette which I mentioned in my mini KIKO haul was the All Stars Face Palette. This palette was part of the Campus Idol collection which was bought out earlier this year and the inspiration for this original collection is based around American Colleges. I love KIKO collections because they are all centred around a certain theme and always manage to grab my attention! This palette is quirky and fun and its bright colours instantly lift your mood. The palette comes in two colours but I opted for the lighter coloured palette in the shade 01 Pretty Rose. It consists of a bronzer, blush and highlighter all of which are so soft and super easy to blend. The bronzer is my favourite among the three and is the reason I have been using the palette so often! It’s not really a bronzy kind of formula, I’d say it works better for contouring. It carries a warm tone to it and produces a matte finish which looks really natural. It’s not too heavy on the skin and is so easy to balance in accordance to your skin tone. The blush is highly pigmented which is great and is guarantees healthy looking smooth skin as well as adding a touch of colour but sadly isn’t the right colour for my skin tone as I prefer to go for more subtle shades. I feel like if you had a medium skin tone this blush would look super pretty on you. The highlighter is light-enhancing and works well to define important features. It is a bit of an odd one because I love the consistency and shimmer the highlighter gives although it’s not super matt or super glittery it’s kind of in-between? So if you’re about that vibe give this a try but like I way personally I would rather go for a matt or glitzy look. That being said, the size of the palette is really practical and suitable for travelling. The only thing I don’t particularly like is the chalky feel each compact has or the packaging as its cardboard and I prefer individual products to palette-type make up items, but the palette is nice.

bday5

A primer I got for my birthday is the Smash Box Photo Finish Foundation Primer in Light. Personally, primers are an absolute must when it comes to make-up as they create such a perfect base for foundation application and your whole make up look will be transformed just by the use of a simple primer. You don’t have to go high-end at all when it comes to primers as there is some good drugstore ones but I had always been interested in Smash Box so asked if I could have one to try! The formula is really lightweight and silky which is so soft and smooth on the skin and applies so nicely. It increases the longevity of make up as well as reducing appearance of fine lines and pours. It’s really great for dry skin too because it hydrates the skin and has a sort of moisturising effect which makes blending so much easier! It also works great for combination skin as it keeps away shine making you look great in photos! 😉 The only thing I would say is that it takes time to settle and visibly see results so do your make up about an hour earlier before you’re due to leave so you can go looking the best possible!

bday7

A new perfume I was bought which I instantly fell in love with was the Marc Jabobs Daisy Dream Eau de Toliette. It is packaged in the cutest little glass bottle with white plastic flours around the pump. It’s a cute, floral and fruity fragrance which would complement any woman. It’s so difficult to describe the scent to you but its really fresh and light which captivates an essence of jasmine, lychee, fruits and blue wisteria. The perfume is rather long lasting and perfect as an everyday scent. It’s just really beautiful so next time you see it in-store, pick it up and have a little sprtiz!

bday1

An eye shadow base I was bought and I absolutely LOVE is the Maybelline EyeStudio Colour Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Eyeshadow. Although drugstore, this product is very highly regarded by makeup artists, beauty bloggers and customers alike and right so.  It is stocked in about 17 gorgeous shades but I opted for ‘On and On Bronze’ because I’m a sucker for a natural eye! The colours are all really bold and metallic which produce long-lasting incredible colour onto the eye lid. I wasn’t a fan of cream shadows because they always seem to crease and rub off but this has some serious staying powder and is totally crease proof! You could totally wear this on its own but I love using it as a base. The colour is really subtle at first but the tiny particles are so easy to build to create a grown-up classy sparkly eye look. It’s great that its buildable because you could have a really light make up day and just keep it sheer or do a full face of makeup and build the cream gel to reach full coverage. The formula is so soft and delicate which transmits a weightless texture onto the eye lid. It does last for ages but its not transfer resistant so don’t rub your eyes!

bday8

Whilst down in Brighton I made myself a two piece Eye-Shadow Compact in MAC and the colours I used were Corduroy and Nylon. Both are so highly-pigmented powders than apply evenly to the eyelid and blend really well. They are crease-resistant and consist of a really bold colour which looks amazing! Curduroy is a muted reddish-brown that conveys a matt finish. It carries an intense colour with no shimmer of glittery effect and has quite a dry feel. Nylon is a light shimmery colour that has a strong colour and is on the middle ground between a sheen and matt effect. I put Corduroy over the lid of my eye and then a glittery shade from my NAKED palette in the crease. I then use Nylon in the inner corners to open my eyes and brighten them. What I also love about these eyeshadows is how versatile they are! The formulas are incredible and can work for different functions. For example, I sometimes use Corduroy as a contour or Nylon as an eyebrow highlighter! These eye products are a must and I definitely want to purchase more!

bday9

Another eyeshadow palette I was bought was by KIKO and was called the Colour Fever Eyeshadow Palette. It’s available in four shades: 101 Unexpected Rosy Taupe (the one I have), 101 Coral Burgundy, 102 Jungle Green Variations and 102 Grey Night Blue. The eyeshadows are great for enhancing your natural eye colour. The formulas are really soft and produce pearly, metallic, satin finishes. What I really liked is that it enables a variety of looks to be created from more natural make up to the most creative. The texture works to release a high level of pigments either wet or dry. When wet the colours are even richer and the reflections are accentuated further. I also really liked the compact mirror as it makes on the go application so much easier! I didn’t find the colours dropped throughout the day and they are really wearable, ideal for every day. At first I was quite sceptical because they seemed really deep and purplely but they are in fact really natural with a hint of rosy purple throughout each shade in the quad.

bday10

The last eyeshadow product I was bought is the Merged Baked Eye Shadows by MUA (Make Up Academy). The three shades bring day, dusk and evening drama so can create a whole range of looks! The pigment was not as deep as I was expecting and I did need to reapply in the day for the wear to last but for the price it’s a great alternative to higher end neutral eye shadows. Each shadow contains two tone threads of colour creating a rather delicate shimmer. These subtle shades can be paired together to create a really quick everyday eye look as they all blend really nicely into one another. Use the bottom left all over the lid, the top shade for the inner corners and the bottom right for blending out the outer corner. I don’t think I’d purchase again but if you’re new to eyeshadow and want a super quick palette to have a practise this is perfect!

bday6

The last thing that I was bought and wanted to tell you about was a MAC Lipstick in Brave. I went instore looking for a nude lipstick as I knew MAC lipsticks were really highly regarded by makeup artists and youtubers so I thought I’d give it a go! I chose Brave because it suited my features best but it is literally the most perfect shade for any skin tone! I would describe it to be a medium pink that has been tinged with brown making it a great everyday muted shade for all complexions. It leans toward a more cool toned lippy that conveys a semi-matte finish. The satin formula applied really smoothly and looked great on! I get around three hours of wear from this shade, as long as I don’t eat or drink, and this is quite lengthy it’s just a shame it couldn’t last longer! It’s a bit bolder than the more subtle pinky nude shades I tend to go for but it is still fairly understated.

bday4

Thanks for reading! I know it’s a bit of a random blog post but I just wanted to share my opinions of these products with you. What are your favourite products at the moment? And be sure to let me know of anything you fancy reading as I’m open to suggestions! Hope you have a great week and see you next Sunday.

-LaurenRose

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday Bits and Bobs

Leave a Reply

