Easter Cupcakes- Fool Proof!

Hi guys! So just a quick update- I’ve been in Brighton this weekend and it was amazing honestly how have I gotten to the age of 17 and never been to Brighton properly?! But yeah it was so lovely and the beach was really chilled and I can’t wait to go back! And while we’re on the subject of age I actually can’t believe I’m 18 on Thursday! That just doesn’t quite register in my mind haha! So yes my birthday is on Easter weekend and I didn’t want to do anything too difficult because I just wanted to upload one of my really quick and easy recipes for you guys to try out this Easter. It’s honestly fool proof so just have a go- they taste amazing! …

12 Easter Cupcakes

Prep: 20 minutes

Bake: 20 minutes

Serves: 12

Skill Level: Easy

What you will need:

  • 125g Self-Raising Flour (I use Allison or McDougalls)
  • 125g Butter (I use Stork)
  • 125g Caster Sugar (I use Silver Spoon)
  • 2 Medium Eggs (I use Free-range)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract (I use Nielsen-Massey)
  • 2 tbsp Milk (I use Semi-Skimmed)
  • Handful of Cadbury’s mini eggs
  • Chocolate Flakes- crumbled
  • 225g Icing Sugar (I used Silver Spoon)
  • If you want to go all out!- try adding chocolate chips, munchies or magic stars in the cake mix- they taste AMAZING

cake3

 

 

 

 

 

 

What to get out of your cupboards:

  • Bun tin
  • 12 cupcake cases
  • Wooden spoon or electric whisk
  • Fork
  • Mug
  • Sieve
  • Tablespoon
  • Teaspoon
  • Ice-cream scoop
  • Oven-gloves
  • Cooling rack

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 180°C (fan 160°C, gas mark 4). Line your baking tray (bun tin) with 12 colourful cupcake cases and set aside.

cake2

Step 2: If you’re using a wooden spoon cream together the butter and caster sugar until light and fluffy. If you’re using an electric whisk, whisk the butter and caster sugar together on a low setting until the same consistency is reached.

Step 3: Crack the eggs into a mug and use a fork to whisk until combined. Add the egg a little at a time beating/whisking after each addition.

Step 4: Sieve the flour into the mixture and fold using a table spoon. Folding is when you scoop up from the bottom of mix and place it on top until the flour has blended into the mixture. Once the flour is not noticeable, I like to whisk the mixture on a low setting for about 20 seconds just to ensure everything is combined.

Step 5: Add 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 2 tbsp milk and mix carefully (also add choc chips, munchies or magic stars at this point if using). Using the ice-cream scoop (it just adds the right amount to each cupcake case) spoon the mixture into the cases and bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown on top and a skewer or knife tip can be inserted and pull away clean.

cake11

Step 6: Remove the cakes from the bun tin and allow to cool on a cooling rack.

cake1

Step 7: Sieve the icing sugar into a bowl and gradually stir in warm water until the mixture is the consistency of a thick cream. Beat until white, smooth and thick enough to coat the back of the spoon.

cake13

Step 8: Spoon the glace icing onto the cupcake and use the back of the spoon to smooth over the surface. Add a sprinkle of crushed flakes to make the nest and add three mini eggs to the centre. When serving, dust the cakes with icing sugar and you’re good to go!

cake12

So there you have it! A very simple, very quick yet very delicious recipe of how to make some Easter cupcakes the whole family can enjoy this Sunday! I hope you have loads of fun making them and be sure to show me your pictures if you do! This week’s post will be up quite late as it’s my birthday weekend and I’ll be quite busy but it’ll be up early next week. Hope you have a good week!

-LaurenRose

Leave a Reply

