Top 5 Concealers: Tried and Tested

Hi guys! Recently I’ve made it my mission to find the perfect concealer because I have honestly been looking for a concealer with good coverage and consistency for what feels like ages! I purchased a few, some high-end and some drugstore and picked out my top 5 which I want to chat you through in this post. I’ll warn you now it’s going to be a long one so grab a cuppa and read about concealers galore!

The first one I’m going to talk to you about is the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer.  This has honestly been my go-to concealer for as long as I can remember! It’s super cheap, easy to apply and blends so well! It comes packaged in a small plastic tube with black printed writing. The applicator wand features a small angled sponge which applies nicely. I personally use shade 1 which is fair under the eyes to brighten them and then either fair again, or shade 2 which is more of a cool medium on my blemishes as this also works really nicely. It is a full-coverage concealer which is a complete tick box for me for under the eyes and it doesn’t crease or peel. It is really long-lasting and conveys a matt finish onto the skin. The smooth translucent formula has been created to transmit a weightless texture, creating a glowing complexion that will clarify any skin tone. I find the consistency to be quite creamy and the overall look to be quite illuminating.  I reach for it almost every day and to enhance its staying capacity I just powder slightly to set it. The only shortfall that I’ve started to notice is that it can dry out the skin slightly so if you already have particularly dry skin this might not be the best option for you, but with a proper skincare routine and plenty of moisturizer it works a treat. Available at any good drugstore for just £4.19.

concealer3

The second concealer is NAKED SKIN by Urban Decay. This concealer is quite high-end and looks really classy as it is packaged in a small glass tube with a gun metal coloured lid. The applicator wand sponge is thin and so soft and dispenses the right about of concealer for each under-eye, gliding on with absolutely no effort required! However, it is flat on both sides which I found quite awkward to apply but I suppose at the end of the day it’s the product inside that counts! I used the shade fair neutral but next time I think I will buy a slightly darker shade as it was quite light, even for me! The formula claims to be high-tech as it is light-diffusing, lightweight and super smooth and right so. The concealer applies like a second skin and produces a radiant demi-matte finish. However, I’d say this concealer is more medium coverage so is good for when you’re having a great skin day or don’t want to wear much make up, but otherwise it can fade quite quickly so wouldn’t be your best option. That being said, it is buildable so you could work towards a full-coverage look if desired as it blends beautifully and doesn’t settle into fine lines or crease. The concealer does come in a range of about eight different shades which is really beneficial as each concealer is designed to carry a different colour intensity and shade undertone. Not that this is so important but the scent is so nice too! Available online for £17.50.

concealer4

The next concealer in my top 5 is the Bourjois Radiance Reveal Concealer which honestly just smells A M A Z I N G! I mean I know you shouldn’t buy a concealer just for the smell but seriously, Boujois have really upped their game with this one! The bottle is also super cute as its square shaped which I absolutely love and is made from frosted transparent glass with a shiny silver lid. Although the product is drugstore it completely looks like a high-end product. The only thing I really don’t like about the packaging is how small the applicator wand is. It’s literally about 4cm and I guess I can get over that but it’s just kind of annoying. The applicator wand is practically identical to Collection’s, just smaller in length. I use the lightest shade which is 01 Ivory and it is the perfect shade for my fair skin tone. It has a really luminous, silky smooth formula that applies and blends so nicely. Like the other two it doesn’t crease, peel or sink into fine lines and it covers up dark circles beautifully creating a healthy glowing complexion. It can be medium or full coverage depending on how well you build it into the skin. The product claims to be 24 hours and I’m not entirely sure if this is the case as I never tend to wear make up for this long anyway, but it does certainly last a long time and I have never needed to touch up this concealer when I have worn it. One of my favourite things about the concealer is that it is really hydrating and as I have quite dry skin at the moment, it works really well to restore my skins usual self. The product is a massive dupe of the Terry Densiliss Concealer which is also pretty amazing but this Bourjois one is just so much more affordable. Available at any good drugstore priced at £7.99.

concealer5

Another one of my favourites that’s made it into the top 5 is the Wake Me Up Concealer by Rimmel. This has become my holy grail product of the month and I literally love it so much! It is a drugstore product that comes in a plastic tube with printed writing and an orange lid which I’m not a massive fan of but the product inside is just amazing so I can deal with the packaging. The applicator wand is a really nice length and the soft sponge is angled which allows for easy application. This product also smells great- not that I go round smelling concealers before I buy them haha! I bought the shade Ivory in 010 and the shade works really well with my skin tone. It is definitely a full coverage concealer that visibly reawakens and illuminates under the eyes as well as concealing any spots and blemishes. It also works to disguise any hyperpigmentation, hide redness and also softens lines without any crease. The smooth formula brightens and clarifies all skin tones to create a glowing healthy-looking complexion. It contains a slight sparkly hue which I think looks super pretty. It is a beauty essential and has now become a must-have in my makeup bag. It is so affordable and lasts for hours so touch ups aren’t even necessary. The product itself is fairly thin which I love because it means that it is buildable and transmits a weightless texture that again feels like a second skin. I also love this concealer for when you don’t want to wear much make up because it instantly brightens the skin creating a really natural look. Apparently this concealer works really well with the Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation which I have never actually tried so I think I’m going to try the two together and see if this improves the product further and I’ll let you know how I get on with that. Avaliable at any good drugstore for £5.49.

concealer6

The last concealer I want to talk about is Bare Minerals Bare Skin Concealer. This concealer really intrigued me because it is a concealer and a serum in one. There are six varied shades and I used fair but I swatched medium as mine had ran out. The concealer is packaged in a hard plastic small tube with black printed writing and a matching black lid. The applicator wand carries a two-sided flat sponge but for some reason this is much easier to apply than the NAKED flat-sided applicator wand. The formula is ultra-light textured which provides complete coverage to fulfil a beautifully even-toned complexion. The serum in the formula makes it really moisturising and super blendable. A brightened, lustrous finish is achieved through mineral optics that work to counteract shadows on the skin. The skin is left nourished and silky smooth. I don’t think it works that great for oily skin types as it creates a more cakey look and can emphasize pores but for those who have dry or combination skin like me, this product works great. It is really creamy and produces fantastic results. The product lasts fairly well although the only downside to it is that the applicator wand picks up far too much product so you have to just work with it. The concealer compares well to Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer and likewise carries a fairly expensive price tag at £22.00.

concealer7

So there you have it- 5 really long reviews on 5 really amazing concealers. Honestly I’m not just saying this I really have been looking for a concealer for ages and these have really stood out for me for the reasons I’ve spoken about above. I will continue to use all of these concealers until the tubes are emptied but if I had to pick one favourite now, it would probably be the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer- funnily enough the cheapest one of them all! I’ve literally been through like six tubes of this already- it’s so good! But seriously give at least one of these a try, they’re all great and I’d tell you if I thought otherwise!

I hope you enjoyed the read, I really enjoyed testing these out and letting you know my views on them. Please like/share/follow this blog and click again next week to read about my February favourites (although I’m away next weekend so it will most likely be uploaded Monday at 5pm)! What beauty offerings do you love at the moment? I’d love to know!

Have a good week and see you soon!

-LaurenRose

concealer1

Leave a Reply

