January Favourites

Hello! This week I wanted to show and talk you through some of my favourite items that I have been reaching for all throughout this relatively cold January winter season.

Firstly I have been absolutely adoring my New Look Slipper Socks. I was bought these as part of a Christmas present in 2015 and honestly, I have been wearing them pretty much every day since (but yes I do wash them haha!). They offer style and warmth as well as keeping my feet extra cosy. I’m not one of those people that wears shoes indoors a lot of the time because I feel like houses are for relaxing and winding down, so I tend to just stick a pair of these socks on which are SO comfortable. It’s not just New Look ones that are great, pretty much any good clothing retailer will stock some form of slipper sock whether that’s cable knit, cotton knit or fleece-lined. Go get yourself a pair!

The next item I have been loving is the Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation. I have valued this product so much that I even dedicated a full blog post to it alongside CT’s filmstar bronze and glow palette. The foundation is definitely full-coverage with a long lasting demi matte finish. The innovative formula brightens and clarifies skin tone to create a glowing complexion. I have been raving about it because it literally feels like a second skin as it transmits such a weightless texture. The pump dispenses the foundation easily onto a brush or beauty blender and it is so easy to apply and blend. There are 15 shades to choose from so just pop a quick email to CT asking for a sample or visit one of their stores so they can match your skin tone to the correct shade. I really recommend this and I will definitely be purchasing again.

A product I got sent to me to try which I have also really loved is the Pore Professional Face Primer Balm by Benefit. It claims to minimize the appearance of pores and fine lines for smooth skin and it does do just what it says on the box! Ever since it arrived it has been a staple in my makeup bag. The silky, lightweight balm should be applied under or over make up to help it stay on for longer as well as vanishing pores and hiding red patches. The translucent formula contains a Vitamin E imitative known to protect skin from radicals. The primer complements all skin tones and is oil-free so can be used on oily skin unlike other primers. It works best by applying a thin layer to clean, lightly moisturized skin and patting it down with fingertips. It blends easily and smells amazing!

My all-time favourite make up brush that I am using at the moment is definitely the Real Techniques Oval Shadow Brush in 200. Their collections of brushes are highly regarded by makeup artists and customers alike. Their prosperous reputation comes from the luxe packaging and quality of the product.  The oval shadow brush is my much-loved brush because the full, round shape allows for an all-over lid application and seamless blending.  I just want to emphasise the blending capability of the brush as I have never come across a brush that works so well with eyeshadow and blends it into the skin so elegantly and precisely for optimal control and comfort. It also works great for detailed highlighting of the brow bone. The brush itself is SO soft and super pretty! It’s great because the brush doesn’t shed even after cleaning multiple times and the brass ferrules have been constructed for maximum durability. It has a medium to full coverage and is very stylish and is lightweight so perfect for travelling or keeping in your everyday makeup bag, as are all the bold metals brushes.

One website I had come across was http://www.mynamenecklace.co.uk/ and at first I was unsure of whether to purchase from here as I had not heard of it before, nor had I read many reviews from it. However, I braved the new site and purchased a ‘Carrie-style’ Small Personalised Classic Name Necklace in silver. It is also available in 18ct Gold Plating and 18ct Rose Gold Plated. I have had many complements on the necklace itself and this has made me just adore it even more! It is a dainty, stylish necklace which shows off yourself in a demure way. I have long wanted a necklace with my name on it just because I think it feels personal to me and complements pretty much any outfit so when I found this site I was overjoyed! There are so many different styles, fonts, chain lengths and chain styles to choose from so the necklace can be made really personal to you. I chose the 45cm adult chain length and it sits beautifully on my neckline. It is of excellent quality and is overall just a lovely piece of jewellery.

Another item I have been loving is a mascara- the Maybelline Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara (9.5ml). If I’m being honest, I’ve never thought about trying any of Maybelline’s beauty range offerings before as I didn’t expect much in terms of quality, but this mascara has completely converted me! The new liquid formula with a low wax count creates dark and defined black lashes that are literally sensational! I was really impressed with the mascara and it was surprisingly really easy to layer to give a multiplied lash look as it captures even the tiniest of lashes and lengthens them to add volume. It is really easy to get a hold of as it is stocked in most drugstores at a really reasonable price. I don’t usually get along with plastic applicator brushes but I was really awestruck with this one. The shape of the brush works wonders and forms a natural shape to the eyes and totally transforms the whole look. I would definitely put it up there with one of my top three mascaras of all time!

The last product in my favourites is the Origins Clear Improvement Face Mask in Charcoal.  The product photographed is only a miniature version I was given but the real bottle is 100ml. It is an active charcoal mask which works to clear pores. It gets into your skins clogged up pores and clears the way for smooth breathable skin. At first I just liked it because it felt like I was looking after my skin as before I never really had a set skincare routine, but since I’ve been doing it once a week, I have really started to notice a difference! Pores are cleared, blackheads are reduced and impurities are dissolved. How to use: open pores with a warm, moist towel and layer mask on. Allow to dry then rinse well- however, don’t leave the mask on for longer than 10 minutes or it really does dry your skin out and always remember to moisturize afterwards! If used properly, your skin will take on a new clarity, dullness will disappear and you will gain a new glowing complexion!

So there you have it. Seven amazing products that I have been loving/ using/ wearing all throughout January. I hope you enjoyed reading about them and be sure to check them out! I also recommend you read my blog post on Charlotte Tilbury for a full review of the Magic Foundation. Hope you’ve had a good week and for those of you breaking up for half term I hope you have a really lovely one! See you next week, thanks for clicking.

-LaurenRose

favourites 1

6 thoughts on “January Favourites

  1. I totally agree with you on the mascara and the primer! They are must haves for me. dying to try the foundation though, there’s no stores in Canada though and I don’t trust colour matching online. Is a dewey finish?
    I just posted a January favourites yesterday, I would love if you checked it out
    Thanks for sharing xx
    http://www.discoveringc.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why don’t you try emailing CT and asking them to send you 3 free samples then you can choose your shade? That’s what I did! And no it’s demi matt- a kind of velvety finish that pulls light inward but still produces a fresh and vibrant complexion! Yes I’ll be sure to check it out, thanks for letting me know!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

