Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation and Filmstar Bronze and Glow

For this week’s blog I wanted to write about how much I absolutely love my two new Charlotte Tilbury purchases! Charlotte Tilbury products are very highly regarded by makeup artists and customers alike and right so. Their opulent reputation comes from the luxe packaging and quality of the product. The first product in question is the Magic Foundation. The product comes in a 30ml glass bottle with a rose gold lid which I instantly fell in love with. This is definitely a full coverage foundation that is long lasting with a demi matte finish. The staying capacity of the foundation is so excellent that there is no need to powder afterwards, although I do still like to give myself a dusting. It tones under the eyes and immediately covers redness. It has been created with an innovative formula that brightens and clarifies your skin tone to create a glowing complexion. A little of this product goes a long way and it isn’t in the slightest cakey, it transmits a weightless texture on the skin. The only shortfall of the product is that after about six hours or so it starts to fade and blemishes start to reappear, but it’s nothing that a touch-up can’t sort out.

I applied Bare Minerals Prime Time on my skin to prep it before hand to minimise the appearance of pores and even out skin tone whilst creating a velvety base for make-up and helping it to stay put for longer. I then applied the Magic Foundation with the Real Techniques triangle foundation brush in 101 and then used a buffing brush to smooth the layers and blend the foundation to ‘merge’ it into the skin. I love the fact that the foundation has a pump, although the pump is white and plastic so looks quite cheap, it does the job. It helps dispense the foundation by distributing it onto what you need whether that be a brush, beauty blender or palette. There are 15 shades to choose from, formulated to match every skin tone from Lily Cole to Lupita Nyongo. The shade I wear is shade 2 which is a pink-beige shade for fair skin with cool undertones. It matches my skin tone perfectly and it has been the foundation I reach for all throughout December and January. The product itself is great but so is the customer service. I emailed the company and asked for 3 free samples in order to see which shade I needed to order and I was speedily sent them so I could make a decision of which shade to purchase. With the product you also get a sample of the shade below and the shade above to test and you can always return the product and get an exchange if you feel that a sample shade better suits you.

Now onto the Filmstar Bronze and Glow Face Sculpt and Highlight Palette, in order words, CT’s highlight and contour kit. I purchased the light to medium shaded palette because my skin is fair, especially at this time of year! Beauty bloggers, make up artists and even celebrities have raved about this product for ages and I had wanted it for so long so I decided to buy it to see what all the fuss was about.

First things first, I was most certainly NOT disappointed. It arrived in the most beautiful rose gold shell with a shiny silver mirror and the two shades. The bronzer is a combination of pearl and pigment used to contour, sculpt and mimic a sun-kissed complexion. I applied this to the hollows of my cheeks, temples, jaw line and sides of the nose to add depth. I find that it is definitely more of a bronzer than a sculptor; however this does mean you get more of a natural definition out of it. Although I suggest being light-handed because it’s extremely pigmented! The highlighter is built from a golden base and Light Flex Technology was used to radiate light out for a luminous complexion. I applied this on the top of my cheekbones, down the centre of my nose and the lip’s bow and brow bone. It leaves a delicate shimmer on the skin which works really well with the bronzer. Both shades were easy to apply and blend.

Now I won’t lie, these products are on the rather pricey side of the market- £29.50 for the Magic Foundation and £49.00 for the Face Sculpt and Highlight Palette- but trust me on this one, it’s so worth it! I really do recommend these two amazing products as I will definitely be purchasing again. I have also seen some really great reviews about CT’s new Mini Miracle Eye Wand so I will definitely be purchasing that to try when I get the chance.

Have you given any of these products a go yet? What are your favourites at the moment?

Thank you for reading and be sure to like it if you enjoyed it. Have a good week.

-LaurenRose

 

Leave a Reply

